Final Budget

Hey there lonesome doves,

So after we tallied everything up, we came to a total budget of just under $1000, which is really pretty good for a film of any length. The only major expenses that we had were our paintings, for which our artist got paid; food, which was the bulk of the budget; and make-up, which anyone can tell you is not cheap. 

We paid very little for set construction, under $75 bucks for wardrobe, and absolutely nothing for cast, crew, and equipment. We were very blessed.

Darth and I paid for the whole film out of pocket. I could have raised $1000 on Kickstarter in a weekend, but I don’t believe in making other people pay for me to make my dreams come true. Darth and I both work hard for our money, so parting with $500 each is nothing to cough at, but I think it made us work harder for the movie knowing it was our hard earned cash on the line. 

Of course, the finances are not complete. Even though I am editing, scoring, doing sound effects, and everything else post-production by myself, we will still have to pay to enter the film in festivals, and to print press packets for said festivals. 

Money, why you so easy to spend!

-Michael Kenyon Rosenberg

Leave a comment